SABS eCommitteesBuy a standard
Page Header

NRCS - Overview

The National Regulator for Compulsory Specifications Act (Act 5 of 2008) was promulgated in Government Gazette 31216 on 4th July 2008 and took effect on 1st September 2008.

The Act transferred the Regulatory Division of the South African Bureau of Standards (SABS) and all regulatory functions of the SABS to a new statutory Department of Trade and Industry (DTI) institution - the National Regulator for Compulsory Specifications (NCRS). The new Act also transferred of all employees in the SABS Regulatory Division to the NRCS, together with relevant regulation including compulsory specifications, agreements, assets and obligations.

The legislation is the culmination of a 10-year process intended to align South Africa with world best regulatory practice and meet requirements of the World Trade Organisation (WTO) agreement on TECHNICAL BARRIERS TO TRADE (WTO TBT Agreement) and the agreement on THE APPLICATION OF SANITARY AND PHYTOSANITARY MEASURES (WTO SPS Agreement).

For more information visit the NRCS Website.